Beginner - scripting help!

hi all, i am very new to linux and am trying to create a basic script.

I would like the script to copy files from one directory into another, (e.g Script ~/my-documents/fileone ~/my-documents/filetwo)

Once all files have been copied, i'd like another script to run automatically and rename the files inside the directory (filetwo) to filetwo1.jpg, filetwo2.jpg, filetwo3.jpg etc etc (sorry for the confusing names).

I am really struggling and dont even know how to begin, any help would be really appreciated.

thanks guys

Is this a homework assignment?

What have you tried?

Why create two scripts? Why not rename the scripts as you move them the first time?

Please show your attempts to script one, which, unless there's additional conditions that you don't mention in your post, would not contain much more than a simple single cp command. And, as the renaming could be done in the same step, your second script might be superfluous. Is there any pattern/logics/algorithm defining which file becomes file 1, 2 etc?

No it is not homework.

My purpose of doing this is not to simply run the script for the example i have given, but for any directory that is instructed.

So far i have managed to make the files copy across into the new directory, i done this by:

#!/bin/sh
if cp -r "$1" "$2"
then echo "copy success!"
else echo "copy failed!"
fi

Now i'd like to for the script to rename all the files within each directory of this directory, according to the directory name, for example if a directory is called help, the .jpg files inside would be renamed help.jpg, help2.jpg, help3.jpg. This is where it seems to get complex, a little steer in the right direction with some examples would be appreciated!

thanks guys

Please use code tags as required by forum rules!

What shell are you using? Your script's shebang indicates /bin/sh, but mayhap you got a recent version of bash or ksh at hand?