bash scripting and awk help

Hey guys, i am fairly new to scripting and I am trying to write a script that takes a comma delimited file as input. I am trying to figure out a way to determine if $1 and $3 exist on a line (basically a hostname and ip address) and if true do the following,
resolve the hostname to ip.

sample file looks like this:

hostname.blah.blah.com,blah,10.x.x.x

I am able to awk the file and separate the hostnames and ip's using the following

cat $filename | awk -F "," '{print $1}'
cat $filename | awk -F "," '{print $3}' | grep '^[0-9]*\.[0-9]*\.[0-9]*\.[\
0-9]*$')

But I am trying to to do this in 1 line, and I'm not sure of the proper syntax and determine whether they both exist on the same line, and if true do the next step.

Thanks in advance.

To keep the forums high quality for all users, please take the time to format your posts correctly.

First of all, use Code Tags when you post any code or data samples so others can easily read your code. You can easily do this by highlighting your code and then clicking on the # in the editing menu. (You can also type code tags

```text
 and 
```

by hand.)

Second, avoid adding color or different fonts and font size to your posts. Selective use of color to highlight a single word or phrase can be useful at times, but using color, in general, makes the forums harder to read, especially bright colors like red.

Third, be careful when you cut-and-paste, edit any odd characters and make sure all links are working property.

Thank You.

The UNIX and Linux Forums

---------- Post updated at 05:34 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:31 PM ----------

cannot you simply do this:

awk -F, '{print $1, $3}' "${filename}"

I'm not quite sure what you're trying to filter out with the trailing grep......