Bash script to periodically monitor a process's memory usage

I'm looking for a bash script that allows me to start a process in background, monitor its memory consumption every 10 minutes for example, and if it exceeds a certain value kill it and restart it.
Some idea?
I'm new to bash programming, I started writing a script and after testing it I always get the same error,

syntax error near unexpected token 'fi'

how to proceed? I run the code on an ec2 aws istance

#note that this code is incomplete while loop missing
    #!/usr/bin/bash
    sudo python3 main.py &
    pidlist=$(pidof python3 main.py)
    read FIRST __ <<< "$pidlist"
    echo "$FIRST"
    #memory in percent
    mem=$(ps -p "$FIRST" -o %mem)
    echo "$mem"
    set -- $mem
    memory="$2"
    if [ "$memory" -gt "20.0" ];then
      echo "killing process"
    fi

Hello and welcome
It's customary to help on this resource, that is, you solve a problem and you don't succeed or you're stuck on something and don't know how to continue. Therefore, if you have a desire to try to write such a script yourself, then everyone here will readily help you. In addition,
creation is much more interesting and useful. The script is quite ordinary and writing will take much less time than finding a ready-made solution. If you are ready to make an effort, it is useful to start by breaking the task down into stages.

First, launching the scheduled task. For this, I think 'crontab' will work well.

Second, getting value of consumption process memory. The 'ps' utility is well suited for this, which can take a command name with the option '-C' or the process id with '-p' option. Using the formatted '-o pmem=' output, you can get memory consumption in percentage terms. This value is of type float, but cutting off the decimal part will not be a problem.

And last, comparing the obtained value with a constant, we determine the need for restarting the process.

My regards

4 Likes