awk syntax mistake doubles desired output

I am trying to add a line to a BASH shell script to print out a large variable length table on a web page. I am very new to this obviously, but I tried this with awk and it prints out every line twice. What I am doing wrong?

echo "1^2^3%4^5^6%7^8^9%" | awk 'BEGIN { RS="%"; FS="^"; } {for (i = 1; i<NF; i++)printf("<tr><td>%s</td><td>%s</td><td>\$%s</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=%s></td></tr>", $1,$2,$3,$1)}'

I included this hard coded text string as an example of the formatted variable data as input to awk. When I test from the command line or in the script it prints out 2 of each output line like this:

<tr><td>1</td><td>2</td><td>$3</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=1></td></tr><tr><td>1</td><td>2</td><td>$3</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=1></td></tr><tr><td>4</td><td>5</td><td>$6</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=4></td></tr><tr><td>4</td><td>5</td><td>$6</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=4></td></tr><tr><td>7</td><td>8</td><td>$9</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=7></td></tr><tr><td>7</td><td>8</td><td>$9</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=7></td></tr>

Also for some reason on my system NF returns 1 more than the actual number of records every time I have ever used awk, so that is why I have < rather than <= on this for loop.

TIA for helping someone without a clue.

echo "1^2^3%4^5^6%7^8^9" | \
awk 'BEGIN { RS="%"; FS="^"; } {for(i=1;i<=NF;i+=3)printf "<tr><td>%d</td><td>%d</td><td>$%d</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=1>", $1,$2,$3}'

Output:

<tr><td>1</td><td>2</td><td>$3</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=1><tr><td>4</td><td>5</td><td>$6</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=1><tr><td>7</td><td>8</td><td>$9</td><td align=center><input type=checkbox name=DA value=1>