Automate a task

Dear All,

I am relatively new to UNIX and wanted to accomplish a simple task which should be automated. That's why I need your help. I shall briefly describe what I want.

Basically, there is a process (X) (related to a particular software which I am using in my system) which automatically starts after some time and eats up a lot of resources resulting in slowing up other necessary processes running. So all I want is to -
STEP-1: periodically (it is better if I can set the the interval duration) check whether process-X has started or not
STEP-2: obtain the PID of the process-X
STEP-3: execute: "kill -9 <PID of process-X>"

And these three steps, I want to write as a script and that script should automatically check the status of process-X and take necessary action as long as my system is up.

Could anybody please help me to accomplish this.

• Sam.

Instead of repeatedly killing process (X); why not just use nice when you start it so it will run at a lower priority and use less system resources when your necessary processes are running at normal priority.

Thank you, Don Cragun for replying.

The problem here is - process X does not get initiated by the user, it is started from within another master process which is the main design software (installed in our company's server, so I don't have much access to that other than launching it and working on it) I am using in my system. Now, I don't know on what basis process X is started. So, everyday morning, I used to kill process X and continue with my work. If am in front of my workstation, I can manually check the status of process X and kill it whenever necessary. However, if it starts overnight then it slows don the progress of other simulations being run in the main software. So, I wanted to have a local work around to this problem so that what I am doing manually (when I am in front of the workstation) can be done automatically. And I don't have to bother about it forever :slight_smile: