Auto NTP Time Synchronization

Good morning,

My first post and first visit, so hello. I have been asked to see if one of our Linux boxes can have it's time sync automatically because the person who built the system has told our staff it cannot be done. To me that raised some flags because although I am no Linux expert, I just thought, that's impossible.

So I did a bit of research before seeking help form the experts before I try anything.

First thing I came across was the command,

ntpdate pool.ntp.org <- which would sync the box to public NTP servers

Then this command

crontab -e 
0 4 * * * /usr/sbin/ntpdate pool.ntp.org <- which would create a schedule to sync every night at 4am

Am I on the right track? We are using Red Hat 5.2 (tikanga), and I don't want to screw anything up, like I said I'm familiar with Linux to some point but no expert. Boils down to wanting this system to synchronize daily with EST Time server.

Thank you for any suggestions and tips or tricks for a linux newb.:b:

That's almost exactly what we have, except instead of syncing every night at 4am, we do so every boot.

Generally there's no such thing as an 'EST time server'. Your system clock is supposed to be set to time zone 0, Greenwich mean time, and the local time zone controlled by the TZ variable, or a profile file, or other means. If your admin set the clock itself to local time, I'm not sure what to do.

---------- Post updated at 09:17 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:10 AM ----------

Actually I do know what to do. Run ntpdate -q pool.ntp.org and see if it wants to advance the time 9 hours or something crazy, or whether it's just off by minutes or seconds. -q tells it not to set the time, just query.

1 Like

Firstly, my apologies for not enclosing my code samples within the proper tags, corrected now.