Are /home partitions worth it?

I'm new to the Linux world and whilst I've been learning the ropes, I've read some conflicting opinions regarding the creation of separate partitions for /home and other directories during OS install.

Some say that having these directories in separate partitions allows you to reinstall without losing your data. Others say that it adds pointless complexity to the system and that some unwanted files from old installations linger after new installs.

What do you people think about this?

If storing certain directories on separate partitions is a good idea, why is this the case? Would it be better to use completely different drives?

Is this different from distro to distro?

Thanks in advance.

There are several good reasons to have separate filesystems (not in any particular order):

• Filling up the /home filesystem with files or using up all the inodes with tons of tiny files will not affect the operating system
  • In case of a filesystem damage, the loss of data is limited
  • I/O can be balanced over several physical devices
  • /home can be mounted in a way to disallow execution of s-bit programs, resulting in a higher system security
  • and certainly many more reasons I can't think of at the moment :slight_smile:

But of course there are drawbacks

• free space is distributed over several filesystems resulting in more unused space. One filesystem can not borrow space from another (in most cases)
  • on specialized servers, like a DNS server, with no users but the admins, the overhead is unneccesary

Conclusion: in my opinion, the advantages of separate filesystems outweigh the disadvantages by far in most cases. This is valid for all kinds of *ix operating systems.

1 Like

Thanks for your informative response.

To be honest, I don't know what s-bit programs are and I never actually considered that having separate partitions could be a security control. I'll put this on my list for things to research.