Anybody wants to help a complete Noob?

Hello there, first post here so go easy on me! :smiley:

I just aquired an old HP 9000 Dclass d220 server, all I know is that it's running HP-UX, and it appears to boot fine (I see the modules loading, etc..)

Now, I have been an MS guy all my life (yeah I know, make fun of me), so I really have no idea when it comes to anything UNIX related.

First question (and this had to come from an MS guy, right?), any GUI at all on HP-UX? and if so, how do I bring it up?

I only ask because if I can at least have a GUI I'm pretty sure I can figure out a thing or two, it's just though to be presented with a blinking cursor when you don;t even know one command!:smiley:

Thanks to any kind soul who helps me

What version of HP-UX have you got? The default GUI is probably CDE (Common Desktop Environment).

1 Like

In the very last line it says:

GenericSysName [HP release B.11.00]

Does that help?

Yes it helps... and its not that bad...
You are a happy owner of a brave little box that at the time could do miracles (compared to win...).
What do you want to do with it?
All I can see is : LEARN HP-UX!

I doubt you can do much more for I'm sure any other than HP software has been removed...

About GUI... To my knowledge these servers were sold as small apps/RDBMS servers and had no graphic cards in standard and in Europe I'm not sure it existed as option...
Where I work, one D220 is still in production (with HP-UX 10.20 because of legacy oracle 7.2 /forms 3...) and have in my garage 2 d260...
Now if all HP-UX is installed you have X11...
You didn't say what you used as console, a HP 700/96 ?
You should configure a little intranet at home where you could access this box from your PC using a X emulator/server software if you have only a winXX PC .
Once you got your private lan working, come back for your first lesson on configuring!