AIX 3.2.5 disk cloning using mksysb without tape drive

Hi. I'm a hobbyist with a mint IBM RS/6000 Model 320 in original 1990 release configuration with a rootvg spread across two noisy SCSI disks (hdisk0 is 400MB, hdisk1 is 320MB). It is running AIX 3.2.5. I want to get these two drives cloned to disk images so I can boot and run the system from a ZuluSCSI/SCSI2SD solution before the disks die.

What I've tried is this:

1. run mksysb from SMIT to make a backup of the rootvg to a file. I don't have a tape drive, so I write it to a file. That part works fine.
  2. Put that mksysb generated file onto a CD.
  3. Disconnect the two good SCSI drives and replace with blank drives (or blank disk images on a ZuluSCSI)
  4. boot the AIX 3.2.5 install media from CD and choose option 2 - Install from mksysb backup. It asks me to choose the input source, I pick the CD that contains the rootvg image.
  5. The installer chugs for a bit then comes back with a message that says "Cannot find a unique BOS image on the CDROM".

I can mount the CD I created on the machine and the mksysb file is sitting in the root, so I think my CD is ok. But perhaps it's looking for an image using a specific filename?? I can't find any documentation that says it needs to be named something specific.

Anybody have any advice on how to do the AIX 3.2.5 install from a mksysb FILE (again, not from tape, I don't have one).

Later versions of AIX have a "mkcd" command that makes a bootable iso file from a mksysb image, but AIX 3.2.5 doesn't have that command.

...and if you have another idea of how I can clone these two physical drives into images I can put on ZuluSCSI I'd be of course interested. I've tried to just do simple "dd if=/dev/hdisk0 of=/nfs/HD0.img bs=512K" (and the same for /dev/hdisk1) but when I try to boot from the ZuluSCSI it sits a while on LED code 551 "IPL vary-on in running" then eventually stopping on LED code 552 "IPL vary-on failed".