Adding a column to a text based on file name

Dear all,

Does anyone know how I could to add a column of numbers (1s, or 2s, or..., or 6s) to two-column text files (tab-delimited), where the specific number to be added varies as a function of the file naming?

Currently, each of my text files has two columns, so the column with the repeated number in it would be the third column. The groups of six text files are located within separate directories, and the easiest way to get at their naming (which determines which number should be added) is by using "ls" - it will always list them in the right order, such that first text file listed should have a third column added with "1s" (for as many rows as it has; where the number of rows varies depending on the specific text file); and the second text file listed should have a third column appended with "2s", so on and so forth.

I am still quite new to programming, and my intuition tells me I should use the command "ls" and then pipe "|" that to a certain command that would execute "if the file is the first one, add a column of ones, if file is the second one, a column of twos..." etc.

Thank you so much for any feedback!

Regina

what have you tried till now??

You don't need ls for that; in fact, it's usually the wrong way to do it. Use filename expansion instead.

No, loop through the files with filename expansion.

n=1
for file in [whatever pattern works]
do
  awk -v num=$n '{ $(NF+1) = num; print }' "$file" > "$file.new"
  n=$(( $n + 1 ))
done

The awk script might have to be tweaked, depending on the exact format of the files.

You might want to do something like

i=1;
for file in *.txt; 
do 
awk -F "\t" -v n=$i '{print $0,n}' OFS="\t" $file > $file.tmp;
mv $file.tmp $file; 
i=`expr $i \+ 1 `
done

-Devaraj Takhellambam

You don't want to use an external command for simple arithmetic:

i=$(( $i + 1 ))

you don't wanna use extra "$" inside :smiley:

i=$((i+1))

Yes I do. I want my code to be legible.