A Question Regarding Timers and Output

Hi there. I am fairly new to scripting in BASH so please forgive my clumsy syntax and analogy as I try to explain what I am trying to accomplish.

I have a list of mundane functions that I currently call from a script file. What I wish to do is to accurately record into a log file the times that each step is taking to allow for some analysis and planning of resources as I utilize the script for more activity on more machines. I have been directed to look at the time function but find that it's usefulness is very limited if I wish to contain all of my data to one output file. Please see the example below of my understanding of how to utilize it.

/usr/bin/time -o 'output file path' 'command to execute'

However, what I wish to see is something more like the result from what code I was able to cobble together below.

LOGFILE=completed_work_`date +%F`.log
my_run_start_date=`date +%F`
my_run_start_time=`date +%H:%M`
    echo Run began on $my_run_start_date at $my_run_start_time >> $LOGFILE
master_start=`date +%s`
# do the work here
step_start=`date +%s` #timer start
    echo 1 Do some work here.;echo 1 This is what we did here. >> $LOGFILE
step_end=`date +%s` #timer end
    step_diff=`expr $step_end - $step_start`
    echo How long it took to do it : $step_start - $step_end = $step_diff >> $LOGFILE
# we can do this as many times as we need to
step_start=`date +%s` #timer start
    echo 2 Do some work here.;echo 2 This is what we did here. >> $LOGFILE
step_end=`date +%s` #timer end
    step_diff=`expr $step_end - $step_start`
    echo How long it took to do it : $step_start - $step_end = $step_diff >> $LOGFILE
# end of the work section
master_end=`date +%s`
master_diff=`expr $master_end - $master_start`
my_run_end_date=`date +%F`
my_run_end_time=`date +%H:%M`
    echo Run ended on $my_run_end_date at $my_run_end_time >> $LOGFILE
    echo Start=$master_start : End=$master_end >> $LOGFILE