Wordpad or Notepad?

I am new to using UNIX and after uploading a new script to UNIX from Windows using FTP, the script doesn't always work. It seems this depends on the text editor I use and the transfer type. I understand all scripts should be transferred using ASCII, but can you advise which is the best text editor to use out of Notepad and Wordpad?

After doing some research it seems wordpad is most popular, however I had problems with this, and my script now works after opening and saving in notepad as a test document with qoutes encasing the filename.

Please offer any advice on this issue.

Provided you save the document in ASCII, using any text editor has no difference. For me I will prefer Notepad because it is a text editor, not a "word processor" that can save text files. But you can just use any other free/commercial text editors on Windows anyway. I will only use notepad when there is no alternative installed because it doesn't do syntax highlighting. For me, I install gvim on Windows. The choice is always yours.

Most likely you did not save the file as ASCII text, so it may become doc or rtf or something like that.

As a general rule, just make sure you are always saving the script as ASCII text, and always use FTP ASCII mode (if you use Binary mode, you have to use a Windows text editor that supports Unix EOL, and save the script with Unix EOL).

You should use Notepad as it is a plain text editor while Wordpad is a word processor.

Hi you could directly type the required script in unix editor right.
why should you type it in wordpad or notepad and FTP it to UNIX?

Being new to UNIX, using the editor VI has previously proved to be a bit of a challenge and has taken some time to come to terms with the different keys that should be used for navigating around VI.

However, since posting this topic I have been on a UNIX course and have a much better understanding now of permissions, FTP, VI and much more

:slight_smile: