Word Occurrences script using awk

I'm putting together a script that will the count the occurrences of words in text documents. It works fine so far, but I'd like to make a couple tweaks/additions:

1) I'm having a hard time displaying the array index number, tried freq[$i] which just spit 0's back at me
2) Is there any way to eliminate the whitespace (spaces) from the word count?

I'm relatively new to Unix, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

{
        $0 = tolower($0)
        for ( i = 1; i <= NF; i++ )
        freq[$i]++
}
BEGIN { printf "%-20s %-6s\n", "Word", "Count"}
END {
sort = "sort -k 2nr"
for (word in freq)
        printf "%-20s %-6s\n", word, freq[word] | sort
close(sort)
}

maybe try this?

freq++

awk automatically use delimiter of spaces by default.

1 Like

Thank you, ghostdog. I'll try your suggestion about freq[i]++ instead of freq[$i]++.

The reason I mentioned the spaces - when viewing the output it lists blank space as having a count of 243. I can't figure out exactly what it's picking up.

Perhaps you have some non-printing characters in the file.
Maybe it's from MSDOS and has LF characters, you could try dos2unix filename first

or try

{
    $0 = tolower($0)
    gsub(/\r/, x, $0)
    freq[$i]++
}
BEGIN { printf "%-20s %-6s\n", "Word", "Count"}
END {
    sort = "sort -k 2nr"
    for (word in freq)
    close(sort)
}
1 Like

Thank you, Chubler! Any idea how I can print off the index value as well? Should I be using asorti instead of sort? I'd like my output to appear like the following example:

Index Word Count
1 the 247
2 a 215
3 to 201

How about :

{
    $0 = tolower($0)
    gsub(/\r/, x, $0)
    freq[$i]++
}
BEGIN { printf "Index\t%-20s %-6s\n", "Word", "Count"}
END {
    sort = "sort -k 2nr | cat -n"
    for (word in freq)
    close(sort)
}
1 Like

Huge improvement, thank you Chubler! The only issue's remaining are the alignment.