won't mount /usr...won't boot fully

Hello:
NOOB here. I attempted to use smit mkcd. Failed on first attempt, not enough space. 2nd attempt tried to place iso on /usr, not enough space there. Cleanup ran for about 5 minutes after aborting. Now AIX won't boot. LCD display on 7029-6E3 says: 0517 MOUNT /USR. Attempted to boot from CD AIX 5L POWER V 5.2 5765-E62 Volume 1 of 7 disk with no luck.

Apparently I'm supposed to hit F5 on keyboard when I see the word keyboard on the boot screen. It goes too fast and always boots to AIX screen:

STARTING SOFTWARE PLEASE WAIT...

----------------
Welcome to AIX
boot image timestamp: 15:32
bla
bla
bla
closing stdin and stdout...
----------------------

The drive in the machine is a DVD drive. All I want to do is boot into maintenace mode so I can hopefully clean up the /USR fs and get back up and running.

Can some please comment on the errors of my ways and point me in the right direction please?!?

Thanks.

Bill

I believe you should be pressing "1" to go into SMS mode not F5. Once you get into maintenance mode, there is a very limited set of commands you can use if /usr cannot be mounted. Your only option may be a restore at this point.

You are correct and I figured that out. I've spoken to a consultant and it looks as though a restore is needed. Thanks for the reply.

did you try and fsck /usr while in maintenance mode?

no i didn't. To be totally honest, I'm scared, as I don't have a great backup of this data. It has been suggested, but being a noob... I'm thinking that that the problem is the /usr fs is too full to do anything. After investigating I'm concerned the rootvg may be hosed as well. My stomach hurts....

Do you get any message while /usr can't be mounted? I doubt it can't be mounted because it's full. Maybe you are better off to use fsck like dig1tal suggested. That would be what I would do in this case too. fsck will ask you if something should be tried to be fixed etc.