Why can't I save a VI file after entering data?

Hi

I am new to linux, when I typed "vi FILE1" I was able to open VI editor. I added some data and I want to save the file and I tried :w but it threw me an error.

"file1" E212: Can't open file for writing
Press ENTER or type command to continue

why I am not able to save it?

I read it some where that I need permissions for that. While installing ubantu... I created and User and password with which I login.

Wont that user have admin privilages? what do I have to do to go further?

Thanks in advance

No, tjhat user does not have admin privilege.

You can use "sudo vi FILE1"

Hi thanks Tony.

It worked. but how can I give admin privilages to a new user created? or already existing user in linux.

PS: I am using UBUNTU

You an either

1. Change the permissions of the file concerned so that other users can edit the file, e.g. create a new group (sudo groupadd newgroup), put the users who are to be allowed to edit the file into that group (sudo adduser user newgroup), make the file group owned by the new group (sudo chgrp newgroup FILE1) and make the file writeable by the group (sudo chmod g+w FILE1)

2, Even if you do not want to give your users access to sudo to do anything they like (very wise!) then you can allow users to edit this one file in particular as root by using sudo with or without providing these users having to provide a password, e.g. run visudo:

$ sudo visudo

and enter the line:

some_user ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/vi /path/to/FILE1

Or to allow all users in a group (newgroup in this example) to edit the file then add:

%newgroup ALL = NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/vi /path/to/FILE1

Replace NOPASSWD with PASSWD if you want them to still provide their own password before being able to edit the file.

Note the full path to vi so the user cannot write a script called vi and run it as root and the file to be edited is also fully pathed.

The user (or users in newgroup) can then run:

sudo /usr/bin/vi /path/to/FILE1