While loop - how to run processes one after another (2nd starts after first completes, and so on)

I'm a programming noob. I'm trying to run a memory intensive process for many files. But when I use the following script, it runs fine for the first 5-7 files, then runs out of memory. Monitoring the output files, it's clear the processes are going on in parallel. Once 5-7 of the files are being run at once, I get a crash. I'd like to run the script so that the first process completes before the next one starts (or the effective equivalent). Any pointers?

#!/bin/bash

i=1

while [ $i -le 197 ]
do
my.program.command.here
i=$[$i+1]
done

The loop runs as one process, line by line.
What exactly is

?
It must not end with a & character.

You can mitigate your problem by inserting a sleep command in the while loop.

Sorry, I didn't think the program was relevant. I'm running software called usearch.

#!/bin/bash

i=1

while [ $i -le 197 ]
do
usearch -usearch_global file.$i -db db.file -strand both -id 0.5 -userout output.$i.tab 
i=$[$i+1]
done

I hadn't heard of the sleep command. So something like this would delay the processing of file.2 by 45 seconds from the initiation of the program on file.1?

#!/bin/bash

i=1

while [ $i -le 197 ]
do
usearch -usearch_global file.$i -db db.file -strand both -id 0.5 -userout output.$i.tab 
sleep 45
i=$[$i+1]
done

Does your file spin off a child and then exit, so it creates a parallel situation. Sometimes you can stifle that by attaching all the child stdout and stderr until they close:

usearch -usearch_global file.$i -db db.file -strand both -id 0.5 -userout output.$i.tab 2>&1 | cat -u

No sleep is necessary if they run one at a time.

I've tried both of these and for whatever reason neither has worked. Using sleep allowed the process to get through 12 files, but it crashed on the 13th. Without sleep it gets through 5-6 files. The output solution didn't seem to make a difference.