Which Unix Certification is the most needed these days?

Which Unix Certification is the most needed these days? This is a big question think about it...

• SUN unix certification?
  • SCO unix certification?
  • SOLARIS unix certification?

AIX 4
AIX 4.1
AIX 4.2
AIX 4.x
BSDI 2.0
FreeBSD 2.2
HP-UX 10
HP-UX 10.10
HP-UX 10.20
HP-UX 10.x
HP-UX 9.x
IRIX 5.x
IRIX 6.2
IRIX 6.5
IRIX 6.x
Intel Solaris 2.4
Intel Solaris 2.5.1
Linux 1.2
Linux 2.0
Linux 2.0 (glibc)
Linux 2.2
MkLinux 2.0
NCR MP-RAS
NEC EWS-UX
SCO OpenServer
SCO OpenServer 5.0
SCO UnixWare 2.1
SCO Unixware 7.0
SINIX-N
SINIX-Z
SPARC Linux 2.0
Solaris 2.4
Solaris 2.5
Solaris 2.5.1
SunOS 4.1.3
SunOS 54 (x86)
Tru64 UNIX

[Edited by Dominic on 11-09-2000 at 12:06 PM]

A word on 'certification' :slight_smile:

I've been working on UNIX-based systems for over 15 years, including almost every flavor of UNIX under the sky. Never, in my career, have I meet a great UNIX person who was 'certified'. All the great system administrator and programmers have the same thing in common - a lot of reading and hands on experience on the job. There is no classroom experience that can substitute for crashing a live server for a major corporation at 3 am and having the responsibility to get it back on line before business opens or you are 'toast'.

I've worked in places where the system administator was in a training class for a week and while they were away, the backup tape for the major systems was full and ejected itself. They had a automatic email in place to warn, but they were in class :slight_smile: Then, a consultant who was working on a difficult codeing project for a month lost her files. She went to look for the backup tape to restore the files and found the tape ejected !!!! She cried, really.