What is the function of the following lines at the top of a shell script file: Directory and Script?

The file starts like this:

Directory: <path to the script>
Script: <script fife name>

#!bin/ksh

##Comments

<actual script>

What is the use of the first two lines in the script? What if I save the file without them? What will be the effect? They are not comments. Im very new to this, please help!

The first line of a script should be the shebang #! which it says what program is supposed to run the script when you make the file executable and run it as ./script.sh

However the script can be run as:
ksh script.sh

If you remove the shebang that's the only option you have.
Anything that starts with just a # (except the #! , when is the first line) will be ignored as commands. They are just human readable comments.

I am assuming that the following does not exist in your actual script, since that will be incorrect.

Directory: <path to the script>
Script: <script fife name>

Note that your #!bin/ksh should be #!/bin/ksh if your ksh shell lives there.

Thank you for the quick reply. I have removed these lines from my code. But I see working scripts which have them. Its strange though, because I do get the error of command not found for these lines.

Thanks a lot!

No surprise as these "commands" really don't exist. Didn't this error msgs make you suspicious?

I believe that Directory: and Script: may be keywords in ksh93 used for creating libraries of scripts that can be loaded as shell built-ins.

Although in bash the command line:

Directory: date

will give you a diagnostic similar to:

bash: Directory:: command not found

that same command (and:

Script: date

or:

name: date

for any other name) in ksh93 (at least the Korn shell on OS X with version information: sh (AT&T Research) 93u+ 2012-08-01 ) will print the current date and time.