What Cinderella did - sorting the bytes

Hi,

I messed up a gzip'ed tarball by tar's verbose output:

tar -cvzf /dev/stdout /home | split -d -b 4000m - backupPART

I partioned the harddisk and installed fedora 8. My 6 GB '/home' directory is gone. All I got is a messy tarball.

I hope, I can do the Cinderella job: good bytes (gzip'ed data) separating from bad bytes (tar's verbose listing of copied full path file names starting with /home/az and ending at <LINEFEED>).

I'm a newbie and I think textutils are not appropriate. Then I found tr and dd.

I need a little help to realise a nice command or script. My idea is:

read next byte from backup.mess
check if byte.mess == '/' then
check if next 7 bytes == 'home/az' then delete all bytes until <LINEFEED>

But I don't know how to script that. I'll be glad if you give me a hint. Thank you.

You should be ok. I create tarballs almost like that somewhat frequently. (That f and /dev/stdout was basicly a no-op, by default, stdout is where the output goes.) The v sends the listing to stderr and so it should have been displayed while the tar command was in progress. Meanwhile, the archive was going to stdout and it should have been ok. If this was not the case then every tar archive ever created with a v would have the same problem and the solution, if any, would be well known. If no solution had been found, then tar would have been rewritten decades ago to ignore the v during a c.

Hi.

Using tar benignly to obtain a table of contents should tell you if the tar file is broken ... cheers, drl

I'm using:
# tar --version
tar (GNU tar) 1.17
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html&gt;
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by John Gilmore and Jay Fenlason.

and I can replicate that error:

# tar -cvzf /dev/stdout /etc | split -d -b 10m - etc.tgz.messy