Wants alternate to the Sleep option??

I am new to Shell Scripting and I need help to write the following script in a different format...

This is the current script:

#!/usr/bin/ksh
environment=rms
export environment
. $AW_HOME/RETEK/exec/RETEK_ENVAR
ls -ltr $MMPOS/RTLOG* | tr -s " " | cut -d " " -f9 >$MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/rtlogfiles.txt
touch $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/prom.1
while read LINE
do
 saimptlogi_running=1
 . $MMHOME/awbatch/refreshsql.sh saimptlogi
 echo $LINE 
 mv $LINE $LINE.1
 Date=`date "+%m%d%y%n"`
 awrun -m saimptlogi -args 1 Y $LINE.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/bad.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/item.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/waste.1    $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/ref_item.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/prim_variant.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/varupc.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/storeday.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/prom.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/codes.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/error.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/ccval.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/storepos.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/tendertype.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/merchcodes.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/partner.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/supplier.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/employee.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/banner.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/ref_mmrp.1 $MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/igtax.1 " " Y
 sleep 140
done <$MMHOME/oracle/proc/bin/rtlogfiles.txt
sleep 90
while true 
do
    saimptlogi_running=`awexe jq |grep saimptlogi | grep -v REJ | wc -l`
    if [ $saimptlogi_running = 0 ]; then
       mv ls -ltr $MMPOS/RTLOG*.1 $MMHOME/arch
       break
    fi   
done;

Actually I want a script which will not wait for the sleep(i;e I don't want sleep option) rather it should find for the PID in the log directory
(Ex:- Jan_12.log
Mon Jan 12 01:43:48 Program: saimptlogi: PID=12409: Started by rms
Mon Jan 12 01:45:50 Program: saimptlogi: PID=12409: Thread 1 - Terminated Successfully
)and it will ensure that if the same PID will appear again then it should assume that the current program is finished, then it should execute the next program.