VNC or X Emulator on RS6000 AIX 5.2

Hello everyone,

I have just joined your forum even though I have been using it on and off for couple of months now. Up until now I have been able to find any information I needed by just browsing this site or performing a Google search, but now I'm stuck!. I was hoping you could help me with the following...

This is what's happening:-
I'm a Windows Systems Admin at my company. They have 4 or 5 Unix boxes (IBM AIX 5.2 and 5.3) in the server room that are used specifically by one Dept in the company. Couple of months ago, the Unix Admin decided he had enough and left for pastures new. The company at the time said they would be looking for a replacement straight away, but so far nothing! In the meantime, they are passing more and more problems regarding these boxes to me. Most of the time it is just comparatively easy stuff they want me to do, like restoring data and making sure backups have completed OK and checking file systems, monitoring services, etc. Couple of days ago however, they asked me to setup a PC in the aforementioned Dept running VNC displaying WSM (Web System Management) from one of their servers. What they want is to have WSM running on the server but viewing it from this machine over VNC and therefore keep an eye on the server themselves instead of asking me to do the checks. I tried downloading Xvnc and tightvnc and compiling them on this server as per instructions I found on the Internet, however the compile process keeps failing with error (after reading couple of websites, I believe the problem is that I'm missing some development libraries). I also tried looking for a package already compiled for AIX, but couldn't find a free one anywhere, the only one I found was RealVNC but the company is not prepared to pay for a license! (Apologies if I am going on and on, just trying to give as much information as possible)