vim Script: Switching between modes

Hi All,

I've been using vi for about 10 years, but this is my first attempt at creating a vi script. I am reformatting some files to create CSVs for import into a database. In the script, I have a bunch of substitute lines that work fine, but I'm trying to figure out how to get the script into insert mode and then back to command mode so I can run commands such as:

d1G
dG
1G

I've tried typing <ESC> into the script, but vi doesn't seem to recognize it. What can I use to switch modes?

Thanks,

Dkr.

Did you try pressing <CTRL>+<V> key before pressing the <ESC> key ?

---------- Post updated at 11:35 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:23 PM ----------

You can use macro in vi

macro in command mode
:map <key> <command>

in text mode
:map! <key> <command>

use tab to expand a macro.

So you can try to define macro that work in text mode then expand it ?

If you put an example of how your input file look like and the output you expect maybe we can help you to format it another way (sed/awk like).

---------- Post updated at 11:36 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:35 PM ----------

to load the file containing macro
:so <filename>

---------- Post updated at 11:38 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:36 PM ----------

...but it is a VERY VERY VERY long time since i used it so ... not sure the vi version i used behave the same way than your current one.

---------- Post updated at 11:49 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:38 PM ----------

if you are just trying to remove first and last line of a file :

sed -i "" '1d;$d' yourfile