using sed to replace a specific string on a specific line number using variables

using sed to replace a specific string on a specific line number using variables

this is where i am at

grep -v WARNING output | grep -v spawn | grep -v Passphrase | grep -v Authentication | grep -v '/sbin/tfadmin netguard -C'| grep -v 'NETWORK>' >> output.clean
grep -n Destination output.clean > output.1
awk -F : '{print $1}' < output.1 > output.2
for y in `cat output.2`; do
for port in `cat portlist` ; do
echo $y
sed -e "'$y's/Destination Port matches/Dest port match $port/" < output.clean >> output.3

done

done

where the first grep cleans out the file of junk, the second one gets the line numbers i need to look at, awk cleans that file quick, and sed is supposed to use the values to find the line number and grep place it with the text of which $port being var that gets assigned.

Many thanks!

ps: i am a complete rookie

Your code does not seem to match the logic.
The outer for loops through line numbers in output.2 (say, 1,2).
The inner for loops through port numbers (?) in portlist (say, 10,20) for each line number.
So, you essentially have something called a cartesian product here. For the data shown above, you have:

Iteration 1 => Outer: 1 - Inner: 10
Iteration 2 => Outer: 1 - Inner: 20

Iteration 3 => Outer: 2 - Inner: 10
Iteration 4 =>  Outer: 2 - Inner: 20

Now, assuming that you have found out a way to determine the line number, the two for loops would work as follows:

(Iteration 1) Put port no. 10 in line 1.
(Iteration 2) Put port no. 20 in line 1, thereby overwriting the port no. put in iteration (1).
(Iteration 3) Put port no. 10 in line 2.
(Iteration 4) Put port no. 20 in line 2, thereby overwriting the port no. put in iteration (3).

As you can see, this does not meet your stated goal of "replacing a specific string on a specific line number".