Using sed command replace date variable in unix

I need to use a shell script, using sed command how to replace date variable value in following format.

04/18/2012 11:38:55

Because the sed is treating the '/' as a parameter instead of the value of a variable, and hence there is the message as

sed: command garbled: s/insert/04/18/2012

PLease help me as I am new to this scripting.

Thanks
Suresh

Use another separator, eg:

sed 's!<pattern>!04/18/2012 11:38:55!'

Thanks Franklin for the reply.

Well, the actual command I use in the script is like this..

sed "s/insert/'$STR1'/g" filename

where insert should be replaced with the value of the parameter 'STR1' which is eg. 04/18/2012 11:38:55

I am getting the following error message.

sed: command garbled: s/insert/'04/18/2012 11:38:55'/g

Hence could you please tell me exactly how can I use it in the script. Thanks in advance, Suresh.

i am agree with Franklin52.You can use any character that is not used in the entire expression for any other purpose as a separator instead of slash /.But there is another way here-
shell can be made to ignore special meaning of embedded slashes and treat them as literals by using backslash.So,use \ for each separating slash in date field like dd\/mm\/yyyy.

try like this :wink:

# sed "s#insert#$STR1#g"

the correct format of using the substitution command in sed is:

sed 's/pattern1/pattern2/g' filename

and inside '....' for variable evaluation use "$variable".

I hope the error should not come now.

You cannot substitute variables inside single quotes, must be double quotes.

I meant this:

$$ sed 's/insert/"$STR1"/g' filename

you can use the different delimiters/separator in the almost all of the seds.(all available for GNU sed but forget the special means of thats for shells.)
but we prefer / delimiter for more readable..
but if your string contains same chars with sed's delimeter then we can try change it.
some ones ,:|;#@!%