UNIX script to append multiple text files into one file based on pattern present in filaname

Hi All-I am new to Unix , I need to write a script. Can someone help me with a requirement where I have list of files in a directory, I want to Merge the files if a pattern of string matches in filenames?

AAAL_555A_ORANGE1_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555A_ORANGE2_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555A_ORANGE3_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555A_ORANGE4_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555A_MANGO_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555A_MANGO2_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555B_APPLE_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555B_ORANGE_F190404.TXT
AAAL_555B_Orange_F190404.TXT

If second part of filename='555A' and third part consists of ORANGE then all Oranges/555A content files will merger into one file with filename as AAAl_555A_ORANGE.txt.

If second part of filename='555B' and third part consists of ORANGE/555B then all Oranges content files will merger into one file with filename as AAAl_555B_ORANGE.txt.

If second part of filename='555A' and third part consists of MANGO then all Mango content files will merger into one file with filename as AAAl_555A_MANGO.txt, etc.

Kindly help ..!

Did you try something yourself ?

I can offer some hints, awk FILENAME variable, awk split

Regards
Peasant.

And what should happen to the APPLE file?

In the same way APPLE files also should get merge . If i got an idea on Orange and Mango later i will add logic for remaining files. I highly appreciate your help.

Please answer Peasant's question.

Yes please , Kindly share the hints.

Hello Shankar455,

I have a few to questions pose in response first:-

• Is this homework/assignment? There are specific forums for these.
  • What have you tried so far?
  • What output/errors do you get?
  • What OS and version are you using?
  • What are your preferred tools? (C, shell, perl, awk, etc.)
  • What logical process have you considered? (to help steer us to follow what you are trying to achieve)

Most importantly, What have you tried so far?