Unix OR Linux Cert?

Hi,

I am an NT MCSE who has decided to abandon the MSCE Win2K path and take the UNIX/Linux Path.

But since I am very new to that field, I am not sure exactly what Certification I should get that would cover the biggest area of that field as possible. Not to mention if I should got with Linux or UNIX? Please keep in mind that I am trying to take Network and System Administration path!

1- Linux, there seems to be one of the following three:
A) CompTIA Linux+ (My favorate as I am already A+ and Network+, but it seems as it is still in the testing stages)
B) Sair Linux and GNU (Seems to be stright forward)
C) RedHat "RHCE"
D) LPI "Linux Professional Institute"

2- For Unix, I am not sure I have covered all resources and that is another reason why I am posting here. But it seems to be few Vendor related UNIX distribution such as Sun Solaris and others. Again, the question is, if I choose Unix, which would be the best that is most General and most wanted in the market.

Thanks for your help

First of all, I don't think you should abandon you Win2K and MSFT expertise. Interoperabiity between UNIX-based systems and MSFT based systems are becoming more and more critical. Your expertise in both areas is very marketable and extremely useful.

As to 'picking one UNIX', if I had to pick one and only one, I would pick HPUX because HPUX is a hybrid UNIX and experts in HPUX get paid A LOT of money !!! Experts on Linux, BSD, etc do not command the salaries of HPUX experts in the US.

Second choice, SUN Microsystems. SUN worshippers also make 'the big bucks' :slight_smile:

I started in HPUX and have working with just about every UNIX on the planet. However, I do not bill as a UNIX admin and work high-level architecture and policy for a living (it pays more, much more but is much less rewarding). Personally, I love Slackware/Linux but that love 'don't pay the bills and buy the groceries' :slight_smile: