Time in seconds on AIX 4.3.2.0

Hi to everybody
again i Need your help, i wasting hours but can't find a solutuin for my Problem. I am not an expert with AIX script programming.
I have a csh script and i need the time in seconds but since i have an old AIX the Option -%s doesnot exist with the date command. I seach in Google but what i found was most use perl --- ok next Problem i don't know perl and how can i use perl commands inside my csh script , or is there any easy way to get time time in my script ?

Thanks in advance

You can try my general purpose date script which is a GNU-date-alike written in Perl, which ought to support %s. It can also do date math.

To use it, put it in a text file and set it executable, you should be able to run it. You may need to adjust the path of #!/usr/bin/perl to wherever perl happens to be on your system.

2 Likes

Hi Corona688,

thanks a lot for the link to your great date script. but i just looking for a one line command inside the csh Shell which can transfer the value of time() to a varieable in the script. Your code offer many different Options which i don't neednow , your Program are bigger than my script .
Mabe you have a solution for me to get seconds from perl time() into a variable in my csh script

Thanks a lot for your support

try this to get epoch time:

nawk 'BEGIN {srand();time=srand();print time}' </dev/null
1 Like

Wouldn't this suffice:

awk 'BEGIN {print srand()}'

?

2 Likes

If i remember AIX 4.3.2 correctly (sorry, but is been a long time) there should be the "%T" option which displays the (24h-)time in the format "HH:MM:SS".

Check this with the man page of date i have no way of accessing man pages for this (probably pre-2000) version.

I hope this helps.

bakunin

1 Like
perl -e 'print time(), "\n";'
1 Like

Thanks to all of you for your fast Response

1.) code from Vgersh99 it works perfect

nawk 'BEGIN {srand();time=srand();print time}' </dev/null