Text stream K&R exercises

Hello, ladies, gentlemen.

First I suppose I should introduce myself.

I've been poking at C since a long time ago, somewhere around 1990. (Don't misinterpret that. "Poking at C", in this statement, means that I jumped on it, studied it for anything from a day to a weekend to a finished "Hello, World" program, then forgot about it while years of life roared by. The statement is not meant to imply that I have years and years and years of programming, rather, it simply means that lots and lots of time went by while my programming skills stood still.) I'm not a professional, I'm not a student, and I don't really know that much about it, other than this: it fascinates me.

My knowledge of C and programming comes from these disjointed forays, books, the 'net, and the occasional burst of help from friends who are REAL programmers.

The difference between us is profound. Given a project, they sit down and methodically start laying out a process to complete the solution, while I sit down and start eliminating ways that don't work. Their way is faster.

I program on a Mac, currently with OS X, (10.6.2, Snow Leopard). I use Xcode as my environment, and I compile C with Terminal and everything else with Xcode.

When I started, the Big Thing was CodeWarrior, and I never learned to hammer out code on a Unix platform. In fact, because the Mac environment was so different then, I never learned to do a lot of basic stuff.

Of course, back in the day, I bought a copy of K&R's The C Programming Language, and I've benefitted from it immensely.

I've always looked at the exercises, and promised myself that someday, I would come back and see to them.

That day has arrived.