Sys Admin Certification

Hi,
I am planning to get certified in Solaris 10 for my own interest.
Although I don't have much experience in sys admin, I have got some background in scripting and some sort of beginner level administration.
But I have read in many places that one must have a good amount of experience in sys admin in order to go for this exam, which has been quite a heart breaker. So, just wanted to ask whether I am going for a futile exercise. I am sorry for asking this extremely stupid question, but I just needed some guidance from u gurus.
Thanks.

Anybody can take and pass the exams when given proper training or doing proper preparation.

But I recommend you get experience first..then the certification will be easier (or not necessary at all).

I don't know what the exams are like now, but when I took them back in the 90's they were tough. Fair - if you are going to BE an admin you should be able to pass, but they definitely were not easy.

Take some practice exams and see how you do. See my Unix/Linux Skills Tests-Certification Exam Resources for some resources.

I wish that I could get such an opportunity of core sys admin. But those chances look quite bleak. So I was thinking of going for it all alone.
Thanks a lot for your encouraging words :).

King,

I have a Sol9 certification. But I have been a SysAdmin for more than 10 years and on a few flavors of Unix systems most notably HPUX 11.0 and Solaris 8/9 and some 10.

IMO getting certified requires some work. Job experience is not a must but if you have some experience it will help because "doing is believing" LOL. I really od not see the need to get cert for the heck of it but if you are going to pursue work as a sysadm then a cert will help you get started but you will be on the bottom of the totem pole whether you have the cert or not. Just be prepared to work on the bottom and working up. I see no reason not to get certified.