Storing output of "time" command to a variable

Hi all,

I am new to Linux/shell scripting having moderate knowledge.

In my script, I need to get execution time of a command (say 'ls') in mili seconds level. For this i tried using "time" command to retrieve the total execution time in milli seconds. But, the problem is that, how to save the output of time command in a variable. The format of the command is like "time ls -R /opt"

Going further, the o/p of 'time' command is :(Ex:)
real 0m0.003s
user 0m0.004s
sys 0m0.000s
Here, in my script, I would like to use only middle line "user 0m0.004s" saved to the variable but unable to find out the way.

Can someone help me out with this issue. Thanks a lot.

not sure what are you asking for? but anyways try this..

variable=`command`

Hi Tuxidow.

Thanks for the response.
I had tried the format that u posted but didn't work in case of time command. Command, the result of which I would like to save in a variable is : "time ls -R /opt"

Hope this may clear my question more.

Which shell are you using?
This should work with bash:

_utime="$( TIMEFORMAT='%lU';time ( ls ) 2>&1 1>/dev/null )"

Example:

$ _utime="$( TIMEFORMAT='%lU';time ( ls ) 2>&1 1>/dev/null )"
$ echo "$_utime"
0m0.015s

Note that, as per your request, the output will include only the time spent in user mode!

radoulov makes a valid point. The output from most versions of "time" goes to STDERR not STDOUT.

If you haven't got bash:

utime=`time ls -R 2>&1 | grep \^user`

echo $utime
user 0.0

Thanks a lot radoulov & methyl for your replies.

The soloution posted by radoulov seems to be working as desired for my script and I'll continue with that.
Thanks again. :slight_smile:

---------- Post updated 01-23-11 at 07:06 AM ---------- Previous update was 01-22-11 at 02:38 PM ----------