SSH enable, Telnet disable ...

Hi...

How do I enable SSH and disable telnet..

Also - is there anything special I need to do to ensure that a new user can use ssh and su but not telnet?

Adel

you can disable telnet in /etc/services file . Just put a # comment at the telnet line. Then restart or kill -HUP initd
you can also comment out telnet line in the inetd.conf file.

It depends on the version of Solaris, Solaris 10 is different from its predecessors.

Hi ,

Thanks for your help

My Solaris version is 9

in solaris 9 ssh is enabled per default. to disable telnet follow ghostdog74 instructions. if you want to enable the root login per ssh edit the following line in your /etc/ssh/sshd_config and restart the ssh daemon. (or pkill -HUP sshd)

PermitRootLogin no (<-- to yes)

regards pressy

Thaaaanks for your help ,,,,

Last thing : How to change the community string , it is "public" now! I want to change it.

Regards

I saw the previous post to disable. i am a complete newbie. how do i get to the file to edit, can i edit with the system running in production, if not what mode should i be in. I'm just learning this and got a security directive to turn off telnet asap and i need pretty much the exact step by step.i would appreciate all help

Thanks

You can stop telnet while the server's running.

1. Edit /etc/inetd.conf (vi /etc/inetd.conf)

2. Find the entry for telnet (/telnet[enter])

If there's a "#" in front of the entry then you're done. Otherwise continue:

3 Put put a hash mark in front of the line (i#[esc])

1. Save the file (:wq!)

2. Restart the inetd process (kill -HUP `ps -e | grep inet | awk '{print $1}'`) (the ones around the whole statemet after HUP are reverse ticks, the lower key where tilde (~) is on your PC keyboard. The ones in the awk section are single quotes.)

3. Test the connection (telnet localhost)

4. Profit!

Carl

thank you BOFH

before I exercise your command the un-commented line is