Somebody Help Me

Hello Everyone,

I am having some difficulty understanding this UNIX stuff. You see, I grew up on the old 512K Mac, And eventually transferred to a Windows environment at the age of 10. Now I am a fairly experienced Windows user. I have a lot of experience programming in C/C++ as well as Basic and Perl. I am a mediocre DOS user, and I have used telnet succsessfully to connect to a UNIX server. But I still can't seem to figure out how to get UNIX, why it is better than Windows/DOS, or anything else about the Operating System (If that's what it is). And one more thing, What the hell does Linux have to do with this? Please help answer my questions. Any information would be useful e.g. faq, other forums, links to help pages, anything. Thanks

-TheGoof

Saying that UNIX is better is somewhat open to opinions. For starters let me say that Linux is a UNIX like OS that is freely distributable as source code which can be modified at will. Some virtues of UNIX are stability not seen (by me) in any MS OS's, the flexibility to customize almost every aspect of the OS and applications. UNIX lends itself to programmers since most operations are done command line and small shell programs can be written on the fly to perform simple or redundant operations. Take some time and learn a little about it before you make any judgements. UNIX is vastly different than Windows so don't expect the same things. Anything you can do in Windows can be done in UNIX, often there are several ways to the same end in UNIX.

Thanks for your help. I definetly would like to explore the Unix operating system but I don't exactly know how to get started. Do I have to buy a copy and install it? Or should I try out Linux first? If I need to buy something then where is the best place to do so? Thanks again.

-TheGoof