[Solved] Problem creating print queue HP-UX -to- HP4100N

Hi all, I am new to HP-UX, using SAM I cannot make a print queue on my test server. From my test & live server as the user required and as root I can ping my printer. I have tried to clone the test print queue using the exact same options use on my live system that prints just fine. Can anyone give me some pointers? TIA -KJ :confused:

PS if it matters I am using: HP-UX B.11.23 U ia64

What error messages do you see in the log files (/var/sam/log/samlog, /var/log/messages and / var/adm/syslog/syslog.log for HP-UX I think)?
If you are printing to the network printing using LPD then you should be able to connect to the printer using telnet to port 515, if this works from one server and not the other then perhaps one has a firewall on it blocking port 515.
A failed connection would show a message something like:

telnet: Unable to connect to remote host: Connection refused"

A successful connection will get a message like:
[

Connected to printeraddress
Escape character is '^]'.

As it says hit the <ctrl> and <]> keys together to exit from a successful telnet connection.

If you are using HP JetDirect to drive the printer, check that both servers have the package installed.

swlist | grep -i "jet"

We use "addqueue" not SAM to create print queues. The printers still become visible in SAM.
We have had an issue with HP4100 printers and the JetDirect "addqueue" command. The printer identity is not recognised.

If the 4100 printer is not listed in:

addqueue -l

force the printer in "addqueue" as a HP LaserJet 4050 (-i267).

1 Like

It has been forever since I checked back on this question.
It looks like no jet software is installed on my server.
swlist | grep -i "jet"
..and the command "addqueue -l" is not available. or should I say "addqueue". I will look into this command next.
-KJ

or do you have an /opt/hpnpl directory?

This is the software you need to install if missing: