Solaris 10 11/06 Zone creation issue

Hi,
I am new to zone creations in solaris 10. When I try to create a zone with "set ip-type=exclusive" it gives the usage.

OS

Solaris 10 11/06 s10s_u3wos_10 SPARC
           Copyright 2006 Sun Microsystems, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
                        Use is subject to license terms.
                           Assembled 14 November 2006

Problem

-bash-3.00# zonecfg -z z1
z1: No such zone configured
Use 'create' to begin configuring a new zone.
zonecfg:z1> create
zonecfg:z1> set ip-type=exclusive
usage:
set <property-name>=<property-value>

For resource type ... there are property types ...:
        (global)        zonename
        (global)        zonepath
        (global)        autoboot
        (global)        pool
        (global)        limitpriv
        fs              dir, special, raw, type
        inherit-pkg-dir dir
        net             address, physical
        device          match
        rctl            name, value
        attr            name, type, value
        dataset         name

??

Please help me.

If you are trying to set an IP address then you shoud first issue "add net".

For example:

zonecfg:z1> add net
zonecfg:z1:net> set physical=hme0
zonecfg:z1:net> set address=192.168.1.20
zonecfg:z1:net> end

i think update 3 can not use exclusive ip interfaces. you need a newer solaris version for this feature.

5.What's New in the Solaris 10 8/07 Release (Solaris 10 What's New) - Sun Microsystems

update 4 is the first release with the exclusive feature...

1 Like

What is the newer version,
Solaris 10 11/06 or Solaris 10 08/07 ?

How to upgrade to update 4 or please let me know exact version of Solaris support exclusive IPs and from where I can download it (Could not find 10 8/07 in the Oracle site).

just download the latest release of solaris (update 9). there are different approaches to do an update. the choice depends on your configuration and your requirements.

one approach could be this: