Simple sed command not working; could be a Mac/Linux vs. PC/Linux issue

Hello,

I am on a Mac and trying to clean up some monthly files with a very simple SED:

sed '3,10d;/<ACROSS>/,$d' input.txt > output.txt

(from the input, delete lines 3 - 10; then delete from the line containing <ACROSS> to the end of the file)
then output to output.txt

Even when I try just one of the above, that doesn't work, either.

sed '3,10d' input.txt > output.txt

To me, this looks like it should be pretty basic, but I am new to command line and am probably doing something wrong. Or, I'm told there are differences between Mac Linux and other PC Linux.

I'd rather it be me making the mistake, than different flavors of Linux.

Any help appreciated.

First things first: welcome to the forum. Please use CODE-tags when posting code, data or terminal output, like the ones i have edited into your post - it will make it stand out nicely and will prevent ambiguities caused by how HTML is handling white space too. Furthermore: please always state your complete problem! I take from the title and your posting that you are on MacOS and your sed script is not working - but HOW is it not working? Did you get some error message? Did the wrong output show up? Did no output show up? Something else? "Doesn't work" can have so many different meanings that i simply don't have enough data to properly analyse what is going wrong.

A small correction: it means "delete every line which either has a line number 3-10 OR is in the range of a line containing "<ACROSS>" and the last line. Depending on the structure of your file that may make no difference or it may do so, i.e. if the line containing "<ACROSS>" is at the first line - then all lines (also line 1 and 2) would be deleted.