Shell script to get all the files from FTP server

Hi Guru's,

I am new to UNIX. my requirement is to log on to FTP server and get all the .txt files. i have developed one script by searching some forums but getting error and not able to fix them. pls see below code.

ftp -i-n<<EOF
                open $FTP_HOST
                user $FTP_USER $FTP_PASS
                cd FTP_PATH
                ascii
                  for file in `ls *.txt 2>> $LOGFILE`
                    do
                      if [ ! -f $file ]; then
                        echo " `date` Files were not received " 
                      exit
                      else
                       lcd $LCK_IN_DIR
                       get $file
                      fi
                     done
                   bye
                   EOF

i am getting the below error when i run the script.

./ftp.sh[56]: syntax error at line 81 : `<<' unmatched

some how i have fixed that error. But script did not logon to FTP server automatically. when i run the script it is prompting to userid/password.

Appreciate your help

Thanks
Arun

the EOF must be at the very beginning of the line (no spaces)

But regardless, your approach is sadly not the right one. Use "mget *" to get all the files. Your for-loop in the FTP command just wont work.

A standard alternative is to use perl with the Net::FTP module (search these forums for that). Another approach is with "Expect". Again, search these forums.

#!/usr/bin/env ruby 
require 'net/ftp'
user="anonymous"
pass="password"
server="localhost"
Net::FTP.open(server) do |ftp|
    ftp.login(user,pass)
    ftp.nlst("*.txt").each do |file|
       ftp.getbinaryfile(file,file)
       ftp.close
    end
end

1 Like

Sexy. I like that. How do install ruby? :wink:

Thanks KURUMI,

I forgot to mention couple of points here.
I am using HP UNIX and i need download all the files in ASCII mode. will the above script work?
Thx
Arun

hi otheus, please see Download Ruby