sed help - nested pattern

Hello,

I am very new to Unix and using sed so I'm struggling a little bit with this command and was hoping someone could help me out.

I want to find a nested pattern in a file and replace some text in that file with text from another file.

For example, in file one I have something like this:

def bikeModels(myBike = getBike())
if myBike == "Huffy":
return ["H1","H2","H3"]
elif myBike == "Mongoose":
return ["M1","M2","M3"]

***Blank line separates these two sections***

def bikeColors(myBike = getBike())
if myBike == "Huffy":
return ["Black","Blue"]
return ["Red","White"]

In my file two all I have is a new set of Huffy models:

return ["H4","H5","H6"]

which I want to put into file one, replacing what was originally being returned if myBike == "Huffy" under bikeModels to get a file that looks like this:

def bikeModels(myBike = getBike())
if myBike == "Huffy":
return ["H4","H5","H6"]
return ["M1","M2","M3"]

def bikeColors(myBike = getBike())
if myBike == "Huffy":
return ["Black","Blue"]
return ["Red","White"]

I can use sed to find the chunk of the file I want with a command like:
sed -n '/bikeModels/,/^$/ {myBike == "Huffy"/,/]/p}; file1

but I have no idea how to replace that text with the text from file two.

I did see I could use:
sed -e '/regex/{r insert.file' -e 'd;}' source
but, again, I have no idea how to combine everything I want to do and have it work.

Thanks to anyone that can help. Let me know if I need to go into more detail or explain anything better.

Try:

awk -vs="$(cat file2)" '
/myBike == "Huffy"/ { change = 1 }
/return/ && change { change = 0; sub(/return.*$/, s) }1' INPUTFILE

Thanks, it's close but it's replacing the Huffy information in both bikeModels and bikeColors. I just want to replace that information in whichever one I specify, in this case bikeModels. I've only used awk for very basic stuff but I'll play around with it for a little while and see if I have better luck than I have had with sed.