sed command to replace string that contain blackslash,double quotes

Hi All,

I have been trying to replace a string using the sed command

string value contain blackslash and double quotes. I am not a expert writer of unix script but do try not to ask question. I have almost given up. Hope you all can give me some suggestion

I want to replace a place string in a file that contains "TEMP"\1\"/work/tmp" (values are with double quotes) with another value "TEMP"\1\"/work/${projectname}/tmp" (projectname is passed through a list from a file)

example this sting "TEMP"\1\"/work/tmp" needs to be replace like this "TEMP"\1\"/work/AST/tmp" (where is AST is the project name)

command used:-

projectname="AST"
search_string="\"TEMP\""\\1\\"\"/work/tmp\""
replace_string="\"TEMP\""\\1\\"\"/work/${projectname}/tmp\""

sed -e "s|${search_string}|${replace_string}|g" ${ARCH_DIR}/${PROJECT}.DSParams > ${PROJECT_DIR}/${PROJECT}/DSParams

I have tried with different options like using single quotes, parsing but could not find a solution

however the same command is working fine for below

search_string1="/apps/ETL/IS/8.5/Server/PXEngine/grid_enabled.4.3.8/grid_config.apt"
replace_string1=""

Please use code tags as required by forum rules!

Please post the relevant part of the input file. Why wouldn't

search_string="/work/tmp"
replace_string="/work/${projectname}/tmp"

suffice?

The actual value of search string is with double quotes

"TEMP"\1\"/work/tmp"

and needs to be replaced with

"TEMP"\1\"/work/${projectname}/tmp"

My code

search_string='"TEMP"\\1\\"\/work\/tmp"'
replace_string='"TEMP"\\1\\"\/work\/${PROJECT}\/tmp"'
sed  s#"${search_string}"#${replace_string}#g ${ARCH_DIR}/${PROJECT}.DSParams > ${PROJECT_DIR}/${PROJECT}/DSParams

---------- Post updated at 11:19 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:18 PM ----------

Input file content

"APM_MFTDATAOUT_DIR"\1\"/work/TET/data/out/mft"
"APM_PROP_DIR"\1\"/projects/ETL/TET/utils/prop"