Search for a string at a particular position and replace with blank based on position

Hi,

I have a file with multiple lines(fixed width dat file). I want to search for '02' in the positions 45-46 and if available, in that lines, I need to replace value in position 359 with blank. As I am new to unix, I am not able to figure out how to do this. Can you please help me to achieve this?

Any attempts from your side? Which OS and shell are you using?

I tried with sed but it didnt work. Am using korn shell.

What sed command did you try?

Do you have Perl?
Try:

perl -ple 'substr $_, 358, 1," " if (substr $_, 44, 2) == "02";' Pradhikshan.file

I am assuming when you mention positions you're starting counting at 1, which is 0 for Perl.

perl -ple : # invoke the perl command at the command line with automatic printing of each line
substr $_, 358, 1," " : # replace the 359th character with blank (starts counting at 0) [if ...]
if (substr $_, 44, 2) == "02" : # ... if characters 45th and 46th make the string 02; (starting at 45th position take 2 characters).

I tried the below sed command.

sed '/(^.\{44\}\)02/s/\(^.\{358\}\).\{1\}\(.*\)/\1 \2/'

but didnt work out.

Would that do it?

sed 's/\(^.\{44\}02.\{312\}\).\(.*$\)/\1 \2/' 

It is always a good idea to tell us what operating system and shell you're using when asking questions here. With a standards conforming version of sed , you weren't far off with your sed command:

sed '/(^.\{44\}\)02/s/\(^.\{358\}\).\{1\}\(.*\)/\1 \2/'

When I try running that on Mac OS X (which has a BSD version of sed ), I get the diagnostic message:

sed: 1: "/(^.\{44\}\)02/s/\(^.\{ ...": RE error: parentheses not balanced

which can be fixed by adding a backslash before the 1st open parenthesis:

sed '/\(^.\{44\}\)02/s/\(^.\{358\}\).\{1\}\(.*\)/\1 \2/'

but I then get the diagnostic:

sed: 1: "/\(^.\{44\}\)02/s/\(^.\ ...": RE error: invalid repetition count(s)