Scripting change of text in another file

Hello, I am pretty new to UNIX/bash scripting, so this question may seem obvious. My experience is simply stringing commands together in a script, maybe doing some if/then testing and such, so I haven't gotten into anything too heavy...

I have a shell script that I use as a template to create backup scripts for certain directories. These scripts are essentially the same, with the exception of the value of some variables. Other than that, they are identical. So, it is easy enough to simply make copies of this template, then manually go in and change the variable names (I make separate scripts for each directory, as some are deemed more important, so I want them backed up via cron more frequently). To make the copies, I have simply done:

for copy in dir1 dir2 dir3; do
cp template.sh $copy.sh
done

It is crude yes, but like I said, I am inexperienced (I'm trying though!). I was wondering what I would need in order to change the variable values as well, so I can script it all. That way, I could edit the template file, then run one script and it would produce the copies and change their variable values. I have done some reading on 'awk' and 'sed', but am not sure which I need (or if I need both)

Just a nudge is all I need... No need to do it for me! Thanks for any insight.

Wouldn't it be easier to make the generic backup script ("template") accept parameters, then call the very same script at different times with different parameters, approximately ...

Cron tab

00 21 * * *  sh backup.sh dir1
00 22 * * *  sh backup.sh dir2
00 23 * * *  sh backup.sh dir3

Shell script

SOURCE="$1"
# [code here]

Wow, that would be SO much easier. I had no idea that you could do that (I told you I was a rookie!). So, is it possible to use more that one argument? I would think so, just looking at some other commands I have used with many arguments, but...