Script to tar/rsync/rm multiple folder names

hi all,

i attach a link with what im trying to do automatically via script but i have some questions i need answering please, bear in mind i am really new to bash scripting, the only thing i know how to do is commands in scripts like cd rm tar rsync cp stuff like that

i have mutiple project folders in the "to_be_archived" folder ie

batman
superman
hulk
spiderman
iron_man
etc etc...

so it makes a tar file of the folder, rsyncs tar file to another folder "archived_projects" and deletes the tar file and folder in "to_be_archived"

my example i just did a test with a untitled folder to check to see if it works and it does

i want it to -

do all folders in the list and not just one specific folder, so once it does the 1st one it does the 2nd one so on so forth

i want to check before it deletes the folder and tar file in the (to_be_archived) i want to double check if it has rsynced the whole file across to (archived_projects)

cheers,

rob

Welcome to the forum. There is no problem with being a beginner. We are here to help you (learn). How about i give you some pointers and you try to fill in the rest?

I take it, you want a separate tar-file for each folder, i.e. a batman.tar , a superman.tar , and so on, yes?

If so: this is really easy to set up by using a loop. Here is how to do it:

for DIR in /some/dir/to_be_archived/* ; do
    echo $DIR
done

This will cycle through all directory entries of /some/dir/to_be_archived/* (in scripts it is always better to use absolute paths instead of relative ones) and set the variable "$DIR" to each value for every run through the loop. As it is there is only one command - echo $DIR - but it shows the mechanism.

Because you perhaps want to use the last part of the name for the naming you need to extract this first into another variable and then use this:

echo full DIR is: $DIR
    echo dir name : ${DIR##*/}
done
full DIR is: /some/dir/to_be_archived/batman
dir name : batman