Script to detect time drift

Hello there,

I am not an expert in networking related stuff but I got a requirement to create UNIX script to query our Company's internal time source via NTP for time drift detect and report it when > +/- 50ms.

I have been googling a lot but thought to post it in this forum to get a suggestion on the best way to do this.

Can we read in the ntp.drift file that is created on the server(OS is HP-UX) which script will run and use the value in the file to calculate the time drift or is there a better approach?

Thanks in-advance for you suggestions.

You have an internal company NTP server? You are trying to test it's accuracy, is that correct? Do you have access to that internal NTP server to run stuff on it? Or can you only check it from a client machine?

Thanks for your response hicksd8.

My responses are below

You have an internal company NTP server? Yes, we have internal NTP server

You are trying to test it's accuracy, is that correct? Yes. correct

Do you have access to that internal NTP server to run stuff on it? Or can you only check it from a client machine? We have access to server to run stuff on it.

You probably won't be surprised to learn that I haven't actually done, or tried this, myself, but researching it I think that you can query an external NTP server from your internal NTP server WITHOUT actually updating its clock, and then compare the two for difference.

On your internal NTP server on which you want to monitor drift, set up the NTP config file with a single server entry to an external NTP/PTP server and include the server option 'noselect'.

When the NTP query runs it will not update the clock but the offset can be viewed using

nptq -pn

or

nptq -c rl