Script to delete files older than x days and also taking an input for multiple paths

Hi ,

I am a newbie!!!

I want to develop a script for deleting files older than x days from multiple paths. Now I could reach upto this piece of code which deletes files older than x days from a particular path. How do I enhance it to have an input from a .txt file or a .dat file? For eg: For deleting *.csv files older than Num_days, I am using below piece of code:

cd $FILEPATH
find ./ -type d ! -name . -prune -o -mtime +$Num_days -name "*.csv" -exec rm {} \;

I am using # ! /bin/sh

You could read the paths from the file using a while loop. Then call find once per path, substituting the value read into the find command twice, as the path argument and the argument to the first -name predicate.

Regards and welcome to the forum,
Alister

1 Like

There are several ways to do this. Assuming there are no whitespace characters in any of the directory names in the list of directories in your text file, the following is probably the shortest:

find $(cat dirlist.txt) -type d ! -name . -prune -o -mtime +$Num_days -name "*.csv" -exec rm {} \;

If there might be space or tab characters in directory names:

saveIFS="$IFS"
IFS=""
while read dir
do find "$dir" -type d ! -name . -prune -o -mtime +$Num_days -name "*.csv" -exec rm {} \;
done < dirlist.txt
IFS="$saveIFS"

If there are any newline characters in the directory names in your list, you have my sympathy and will not be able to use anything that has a newline separated list of directories (i.e., a text file) to store the directory list.

1 Like

Don, is there a reason to not simply override IFS in read's environment? Also, I may be overly paranoid, but I use -r to defend against backslashes.

while IFS= read -r dir ... 

Regards,
Alister

---------- Post updated at 12:29 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:05 PM ----------

Because of -name . -prune not matching the current path, neither of those will work correctly.