Script to change UNIX password

My shop has just ordained that all UNIX passwords expire after 45 days. We do NOT have a "single logon" facility, so I will need to logon to each of the servers (15+) I interact with and change my password by hand. I thought I could invoke passwd inside a ksh script as a Here document and effectively change my password, stage this script on all the servers under my id, and then invoke via REXEC from one server.

Unfortunately, when I run passwd as a Here doc, it doesn't take my old/new password from stdin.

Here's what I'm doing inside pass.sh:

#!/usr/bin/ksh
passwd <<EOF
oldpassword
newpassword
newpassword
EOF

Does anyone have any thoughts on how I can "synchronize" all my passwords? (I don't have root privs - I'm a developer, not an administrator).

Use the expect tool, or similar to synchronize a user.

If you want to synchronize all the user's, you can use rdist,
rsync, supper or such kind of commands (depend of your OS).

Regards. Hugo.

Hugo,

Thanks for your reply.

We're running under Sun Solaris 2.6 & 2.7

The man pages for rdist - shows info for remote file distribution.
There are no man pages for rsync or supper.

How would rdist help me?

I indicated I'm a developer w/o root/admin privileges. Also we are prevented from creating/updating .rhosts files.

John

The others commands are AIX commands (supper in SP2 environments) and a GNU tool, both for distribute files.

Whith rdist, you can distribute the following files:

/etc/passwd
/etc/groups
/etc/shadow

and if you use solaris 8

/etc/user_attr.

---------------------------------------

If only want to change one password, use "expect"
http://www.sunfreeware.com

ask the administrator to install expect and tcl.
(and give you acces to expect /usr/local/bin )

tcl

and
expect

(tcl is a pre-requisite of expect pakage).

Note: You need to create a expect file and call expect -f my_expect1

Example of my_expect1

spawn telnet [lindex $argv 0]
expect "login: "