Runtime Linker Problems ld.so.1

Hello all,

I am releatively new to Solaris and I am the System administrator for my branch at the FAA. This is the first time I can say I have really messed something up thankfully. My issue came up after installing and uninstalling Oracle Secure Backup which i felt I needed to do a clean reinstall due to inability to find scsi devices. After doing so I realized that I could no longer run the ./installob script it would throw the following error...and I have no knowledge or understandinf of the runtime linker and ELF classes...etc...

# ./installob

Welcome to installob, Oracle Secure Backup's installation program.

For most questions, a default answer appears enclosed in square brackets.
Press Enter to select this answer.

Please wait a few seconds while I learn about this machine...ld.so.1: hostinfo: fatal: libresolv.so.2: open failed: No such file or directory
Killed
ld.so.1: hostinfo: fatal: libresolv.so.2: open failed: No such file or directory
Killed
ERROR: can't determine machine information for this host: can't determine proper hostname
my_base_arch: Undefined variable
#

after messing around with the LD_LIBRARY_PATH env variable I realized I messed something else up I can no longer run "ldd" command it says the following

# ldd
ld.so.1: ldd: fatal: /usr/bin/sparcv9/../../lib/libelf.so.1: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32
Killed
#

Now regardless what i run, if it has to do with the ld.so.1 runtime linker then it throws a similar error every time. There are even a couple services I cannot get to start like efdaemon, sma, webconsole and oplhpd.
I realize this may be considered a remedial question for this forum but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You,
Jerry

You forgot to mention your architecture (sparc/X86- 32/64...), OS version
Sure it has to do with LD_LIBRARY_PATH... (32/64 bit mismatch?)

Didn't you save the stuff you have changed? No? MAJOR FAIL!
Why not simply restore the entire system? No backup? MAJOR FAIL!