Running out of /usr space ...

Hi,
Can anyone please advise me on how can i increase /usr disk space manually.
The partition was created using manual disk spaces as per IT dept. request

As i don't have any space available on the said production system.
Therefore, i can move the /U01 FS to /U02 file system which will allow me to gain around 15GB of disk space to increase /usr file system.

As i've never done this before
I'll appreciate if anyone can suggest me the procedure on how it can be done.

following is a # df -h output for your kind review.

[root@asim ~]# df -h
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda5             5.0G  707M  4.0G  15% /
tmpfs                 7.9G  112K  7.9G   1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1             2.0G  145M  1.8G   8% /boot
/dev/sda9             2.0G  328M  1.6G  18% /home
/dev/sda10            1.2G  580M  535M  52% /opt
/dev/sda6             5.0G  139M  4.6G   3% /tmp
/dev/sda3              15G  6.0G  8.1G  43% /u01
/dev/sda7             5.0G  4.4G  318M  94% /usr
/dev/sda8             5.0G  981M  3.8G  21% /var
/dev/sdb1             109G   47G   56G  46% /u02

Thanks & Regards
Asim

Simple data juggling. First you need to find where you have space. Otherwise, you need to figure out what you can remove.

It takes space to manipulate space.

If the goal is to keep /usr where it is, then you'd have to move areas that are against it contiguously as far as disk sectors are concerned. You haven't supplied enough information to assess that.

Another approach might be to move /usr altogether to as different disk and/or partition.

Either way, you'll need to boot into some sort of rescue shell to do the work ideally.

I mean, if there's a ton of space available somewhere, you might be able to avoid that, but because there can be a good chance of error, you'll want to be able to get to a rescue shell (and test that out) before beginning the work. Just so that you don't lock yourself completely out.