run and make an executable file

as i said before i'm a beginner in shell programming and i have two questions:

how to run an executable file in shell scripts like for example let's say the file called "prog.exe", what's the shell command to run this file?

also how can i make the shell file an executable file (if it is "file.sh" i want it to be "file.exe")?

If prog.exe is in a directory in your $PATH:

prog.exe

If not:

/path/to/prog.exe

Why would you want it to be file.exe? Just make file.sh executable:

chmod +x file.sh

The command to run the program is:

./prog.exe

if your current working directory is where the file lives. You can leave out the ./ if the executable is in your path. You can see your path by typing "echo $PATH" at the command line, and you can add directories to your path in your environment with the export command if you have a place you like to keep your scripts.

Also, you're thinking in "Windows," where file extensions tell the operating system what kind of file it is. Things don't work that way in Unix. The operating system knows whether a file is executable by looking at the executable flag. You could name it "cheese.etaothuaos" and it could still be an executable.

As a side note, you may have noticed the "shebang line" in other people's scripts. If you have a bash script, the first line of the file should be:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

If you have a Perl script, it should be:

#!/usr/bin/env perl

And so on. So when you run the program by typing ./file_name, the OS knows whether it should be running bash, korn shell, Perl, Python, or whatever. Of course, this changes once you're actually compiling your code into a binary file, like with C.

well i want to be file.exe because i have linux and windows OS and i need the program to be executed in both also i want it to work forever and using SFU in windows is not that good

also i forget to mention in my question the path to the prog.exe is:

id address/path/to/prog.exe