Replacement OS for Ubuntu

For a long list of reasons, Ubuntu One SSO login for everything being the latest, I am abandoning Ubuntu and looking for something else. For a while I have been looking to get away from windows as a desktop and was planning on running in Ubuntu with VMs for the few windows apps that I need.

I am a developer part of the time, so I really need a good package manager, gcc, legacy gcc, eclipse, etc. I also don't want allot of per-installed apps that I can't get rid of. I found it annoying to no end that when I uninstalled the cups printer driver, gnome got uninstalled as well. For some reason, someone thinks that my not needing a printer means I also don't need a desktop.

...anyway, I like a minimalist system where I can install only what I want and need. I like the gnome desktop, but that is not a must as long as I have a good package manager and reasonable configuration options. I don't really care which distro this is based on. At the moment, I am looking at Mint, Fusion, and Poseidon. Other than the development stuff, I would also have some scientific, math, statistics, applications installed. It is also pretty important to have a reasonable community infrastructure so that questions can be posted and answered in a reasonable time frame. I don't mind paying something for support, as long as it's competent.

Are there any suggestions for distros I should be looking at.

Thanks,

LMHmedchem