"if" statement based off "grep"

Hello,

I am somewhat new to Linux/Unix. I am currently working on a shell script that is suppose to cat a file, grep the same file for a certain line, if that line is found save the file in a different location, else remove the file.

This is a rough example of what I want.

$Dating = False

date > DatingTest | grep "May" DatingTest

#Something changing the Dating variable to True based off the grep

if ($Dating = True)
DatingTest > SuccessDate

else

rm DatingTest

any help would be grateful.

Thank you

grep -q May /path/to/somefilename  # silently check for the word May
if [ $? - eq 0 ] ; then                     # it has the word May in the file
   mv /path/to/somefilename   /new/path/to/somefilename
else
   rm /path/to/somefilename            #delete the file
fi

I have a feeling that you should tell us what you want to do not how you decided to do it. For example, how did you come up with the search word: May? Will you need to run the ocde sometime later and have Jun as the search word?

Thank you very much for your help.

The code I added was only a simple example of what I wanted. I was just using "May" as an example because it may be an output of "date", but it may not. My real code would not be using the "date" command.

Thank you once more for your help.

---------- Post updated at 04:00 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:03 AM ----------

So my code should look something like this?

"

#Creating variable
Dating = False

#Taking output of Date and putting it into DatingTest
date > DatingTest                      

#Using "grep" to search for the word "May" within DatingTest
grep -q "May" DatingTest             

#If "May" was found then move DatingTest over to usb
if [ $Dating - eq 0 ] ; then           
   mv DatingTest /mnt/usb

#Else delete DatingTest file
else
   rm DatingTest

"

From jim_mcnamara's post, it's [ $? -eq 0 ] not [ $Dating -eq 0 ]

You don't actually need "Dating" variables (pun intended :D)