Question in creating targets in makefile

Hi,

I have a question related to makefile. I'm new to makefile and I'm in the process of writing a makefile for my RBT build. I have multiple source files and when I compile them I will get multiple object files (one object file for each source file). I'm having problem in creating a target for each object file with out hardcoding the object file names. I read the list of source file names from another make file. Assume the variable SRC_NAMES contains list of source file names (say test1.c test2.c test3.c). Now I want to create target for each objects for it (say test1.obj test2.obj test3.obj). Currently I have written some thing like below,

#############################################
OBJS_LIST := $(foreach file,$(SRC_NAMES),$(notdir ${file}))
OBJS_LIST := $(DSP_COMMON_OBJ_LIST:.c=.obj)

all: final.exe

final.exe: $(OBJS_LIST)
   create exe here

$(OBJS_LIST): $(SRC_NAMES)
    compile and generate object file for each source files here.

#############################################

This is not working. Since OBJS_LIST contains many object names, compilation action is repeated for many times for the target $(OBJS_LIST). My question is how to split the obj target into multiple targets without hard-coding the target obj names?

Thanks,
Anand

You need a generalized rule for how to get from a "source" file to an "object" file. If your source files carry the extension ".src" and your objects the extension ".obj" this would be:

.src.obj
               <actions here>

Now you only need a special variable which contains only the file name which triggered the rule to use in the action part - and fortunately there is such a thing: "$<". A possible rule would look like:

COMPILE=/path/to/compiler
FLAGS=-a -b -c
.src.obj
               $(COMPILE) $(FLAGS) $<

If the rule is triggered by the file "foo.src" the command executed would be:

/path/to/compiler -a -b -c foo.src